frendeites
communities



Événement : Design City 2018

On Friday 19 last October, the Luxembourgers were in turmoil: the Museum of Modern Art Grand-Duc Jean - his little name Mudam - celebrated the opening of the 2018 edition of the Design City festival, biennale dedicated to the design and organized in close collaboration with the city. An abundant event, planned over a whole month, which proves that this small country knows how to be very big when it comes to art, whether applied or not ...

April 2010, the Mudam gently awoke Luxembourg by organizing the first edition - at the time hesitant - of the Biennial Design City. Eight years later, the event has grown and gained in confidence, driven in particular by the enthusiasm and enthusiasm of its curator Anna Loporcaro.

An evolution reflected by the rich program proposed for the thirty days of the event, placed this year under the theme of the relationship between design, crafts and industry. On the menu - deliciously rich - we will find: exhibitions indoor, Such as Beyond the New by Hella Jongerius and Louise Schouwenberg to discover in the enclosure of Mudam, or the genial Wait a minute by Florence Doléac; open-air installations scattered throughout the Luxembourg capital, such as the inauguration of new Corian® public benches designed by Max Steffen in collaboration with Modulor, or Dune, , a field of luminescent flowers signed by Dutchman Daan Roosegaarde; finally, events such as meetings with local designers invited to discuss their practice around a beer ...

In short, an unmissable event for experts as design lovers, and an additional reason to jump on a train to discover this country, as beautiful as underestimated, that is Luxembourg ...

To learn more, visit the Design City website

Photographs and illustrations:
1) © georges (s)
2) Hella Jongerius & Louise Schouwenberg, A Search Behind Appearances - ¿why design for a world of plenty?, 2016 © Labadie Van Tour
3) Boijiot.Renauld, The New York Crossing, 2015 © Clément Martin
4) Daan Roosegaarde, Dune, , 2016 © Studio Roosegaarde
5) Florence Doléac, The bedroom of dreams, 2017 © Aurélien Mole
6) Lorenzo Palmeri, Navel, 2018 © Max Rommel
7) Martinho Pita, DROP, 2016, © David Vidal, courtesy of the Show Me gallery
8) Max Steffen, in collaboration with Modulor carpentry, LUC - Luxembourg City Bench, 2018 © Max Steffen

Post your comment

0
  • No comment on this article.

ADC Awards

ADC-Awards-logo-2017 250-01
The most outstanding architectural achievements elected by the professional community

>> To know more

MIAWs

miaw white logo ok

An International Award to the best products for architects and layout professionals

>> To know more

CONTACT US!

5, Saulnier Street - 75009 PARIS

T: + (33) 1 42 61 61 81

F: + (33) 1 42 61 61 82

[Email protected]

www.muuuz.com

about

my account

Mobile version

frendeites
Communautés

Événement : Design City 2018

Le vendredi 19 octobre dernier, les Luxembourgeois étaient en émoi : le Musée d'Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean – de son petit nom Mudam – célébrait l'ouverture de l'édition 2018 du festival Design City, biennale consacrée au design et organisée en collaboration étroite avec la ville. Une manifestation foisonnante, planifiée sur un mois entier, qui prouve que ce petit pays sait se faire très grand dès lors qu'il est question d'art, qu'il soit appliqué ou non...

Avril 2010, le Mudam réveillait gentiment le Luxembourg en organisant la première édition – à l'époque hésitante – de la biennale Design City. Huit ans plus tard, l'événement a bien grandi et gagné en assurance, porté notamment par l'enthousiasme et la fougue de sa commissaire Anna Loporcaro.

Une évolution dont témoigne le programme riche proposé pour la trentaine de jours que doit durer la manifestation, placée cette année sous le thème de la relation qui existe entre le design, l'artisanat et l'industrie. Au menu – délicieusement copieux – l'on trouvera donc : des expositions indoor, telles que Beyond the New par Hella Jongerius et Louise Schouwenberg à découvrir dans l'enceinte du Mudam, ou encore la géniale Minute Papillon par Florence Doléac ; des installations en plein air, disséminées dans toute la capitale luxembourgeoise, à l'image de l'inauguration de nouveaux bancs publics en Corian® dessinés par Max Steffen en collaboration avec Modulor ou encore de Dune, un champ de fleurs luminescentes signé par le Néerlandais Daan Roosegaarde ; des événements enfin, comme des rencontres avec des designers locaux invités à discuter de leur pratique autour d'une bière...

En bref, un rendez-vous incontournable pour les experts comme les amateurs de design, et une raison supplémentaire de sauter dans un train pour découvrir ce pays, aussi beau que sous-estimé, qu'est le Luxembourg...

Pour en savoir plus, visitez le site de Design City

Photographies et illustrations :
1) © georges(s)
2) Hella Jongerius & Louise Schouwenberg, A Search Behind Appearances – ¿why design for a world of plenty?, 2016 © Labadie Van Tour
3) Boijiot.Renauld, The New York Crossing, 2015 © Clément Martin
4) Daan Roosegaarde, Dune, 2016 © Studio Roosegaarde
5) Florence Doléac, La chambre des rêves, 2017 © Aurélien Mole
6) Lorenzo Palmeri, Navel, 2018 © Max Rommel
7) Martinho Pita, GOTA, 2016, © David Vidal, courtesy de la Show Me gallery
8) Max Steffen, en collaboration avec Modulor menuiserie, LUC - Luxembourg City Bench, 2018 © Max Steffen

Publier votre commentaire

0
  • Aucun commentaire sur cet article.

ADC Awards

ADC-Awards-2017 logo-250-01
Les réalisations architecturales les plus remarquables élues par la communauté professionnelle

>> En savoir plus

 

MIAW

logo miaw blanc ok

Un Prix international décerné aux meilleurs produits par les architectes et les professionnels de l'agencement

>> En savoir plus

 

CONTACTEZ-NOUS !

5, rue Saulnier - 75009 PARIS

T : +(33) 1 42 61 61 81

F : +(33) 1 42 61 61 82

[email protected]

www.muuuz.com

à propos

mon compte 

Version mobile