frendeites
communities



Exposition : L'Art du Chantier

Stunting the world of construction? Nothing is less certain, to believe the City of Architecture and Heritage organizes until 11 March 2019 an exhibition not on the site itself, but on its representations, that they are realized by artists, political organizations, architects or workers. What change of opinion on this world of noises, tools and rubble ...

If the word "construction site" evokes you as a jackhammer, truck in the middle of the street, dust and other inconveniences, go quickly to the City of Architecture and Heritage (16e) to discover the exhibition The Art of Building Site, build and demolish 16e the 21e century. Imagined by curators Valérie Nègre and Marie-Hélène Contal, this event is not intended to tell what is - or was - a building site, but to explore the ways in which it could be represented by artists as by companies or even craftsmen, will certainly change your perception of this unique world ...

6800nomini2

If the ultra-rich corpus composed of 433 works presented between the walls of the Cité Chaillot is worth seeing, it is for several reasons. The first, and not least, is to remember that this moment so special in the life of a project is a source of inspiration for artists. Perceived as a " Street show ", it fascinates as much as it exasperates, being the subject of portraits sometimes laudatory, sometimes critical. But even more interesting, the exhibition reveals above all how the representation of the site - and by extension the communication that surrounds it - is a matter of power. Valorisation of craftsmanship; demonstration of strength for a company aiming to demonstrate its ability to build a tower of several dozen floors in record time; tool of social demands for the workers; object of propaganda instrumentalized by certain parties; media intended to promote - if not accept - a policy of regional planning ... There are many examples presented demonstrating how the site represents, for the person who draws the picture, an effective way to defend his About.

6800nomini

Beyond this meta-political dimension, the event is also an opportunity for the visitor to discover some unknown aspects of the site so often " forbidden to the public " : to understand that it is for engineers and companies a place of experimentation, for budding architects a moment of learning, and for some uninvited visitors - children, wanderers, prostitutes, etc. - a meeting point! While appreciable, this little extra is also the little less of the exhibition, giving the impression that it loses sight of its own subject, slipping from the representation of the site to its reality. But this inconvenience is minimal ... So do not hesitate, put on your boots, your helmet and go to the City of Architecture and Heritage discover The Art of Construction!

To learn more, visit the site of the City of Architecture and Heritage

Photography and illustrations:

1) Eugène de Salignac, Painters hanging on the Brooklyn Bridge cables, 7-10-1914
© New York City Municipal Archives
2) Knickerbocker Photo Service, The Empire State Building Under Construction, 1930
© Avery Architectural & Fine Arts Library, Columbia University
3) Alphonse Terpereau, The viaduct of Gabarit, state of work on 6 april 1884 7
© Musée d'Orsay, Dist. RMN-GP Alexis Brandt
4) John Soane Office, View of the Chelsea Royal Hospital Infirmary Room Under Construction, 1809
© Sir John Soane's MuseumPh. Geremy Butler
5) Fernand Léger, Aloe Constructors, 1951. Tapestry woven by Pinton Frères workshops
© RMN-GP (F. Léger Museum) -G.Blot - Adagp, Paris, 2018
6) Henri Rivière, plumber worker on the tower. Thirty-six views of the Eiffel Tower, between 1888 and 1902
© RMN-GP (Orsay Museum) -RG Ojéda - Adagp, Paris, 2018
7) Lewis Wickes Hine, Icarus, at the top of the Empire State, 1931
© The New York Public Library
8) B. Descamps, Badauds looking through the hole of a palisade of the construction site of the Forum des Halles, in front of the fountain of Innocents, 1979
© BHVP-Parisienne de Photo
9) Michel Delaporte, Replatrage in the moral, political and literary caricature
10) Achille Beltrame, Mussolini launches the Via dei Fori project
11) You are unionized. Why are not you a cooperator, to 1935
12) Supporting a cement slab-mushroom
© Felix Candela Architectural Records and Papers, 1950-1984, Avery Architectural and Fine Arts Library, Columbia University
13) Alain Bublex, Plug-in City, Monumental experience, 2003 © C. Pompidou MNAM-CCI Dist. NMR-GP
© Adagp, Paris, 2018
14) "In thanks to Notre-Dame-de-Laghet. 17.12.26 Menardo Geoffroy ", 1927
15) "Ex voto. Ma. Sig. Staudo dentro nel cortile successo he 18 aprile venerdi santo 1851. Paolo Tibaud. Malero Modesto. Fortune Viegi ", 1851

Post your comment

0
  • No comment on this article.

ADC Awards

ADC-Awards-logo-2017 250-01
The most outstanding architectural achievements elected by the professional community

>> Learn more

MIAWs

miaw white logo ok

An International Award to the best products for architects and layout professionals

>> Learn more

CONTACT US!

5, Saulnier Street - 75009 PARIS

T: + (33) 1 42 61 61 81

F: + (33) 1 42 61 61 82

[Email protected]

www.muuuz.com

about

my account

Mobile version

frendeites
Communautés

Exposition : L'Art du Chantier

Assommant l'univers du chantier ? Rien n'est moins certain, à en croire la Cité de l'Architecture et du Patrimoine qui organise jusqu'au 11 mars 2019 une exposition non pas sur le chantier lui-même, mais sur ses représentations, qu'elles soient réalisées par des artistes, des organisations politiques, des architectes ou des ouvriers. De quoi changer d'opinion sur ce monde de bruits, d'outils et de gravats...

Si le mot « chantier » ne vous évoque que vacarme de marteau-piqueur, camion en plein milieu de la rue, poussière et autres désagréments, rendez-vous vite à la Cité de l'Architecture et du Patrimoine (16e) pour découvrir l'exposition L'Art du Chantier, construire et démolir du 16au 21siècle. Imaginé par les commissaires Valérie Nègre et Marie-Hélène Contal, cet événement qui n'a pas pour ambition de raconter ce qu'est – ou était – un chantier, mais d'explorer les façons dont il a pu être représenté par les artistes comme par les entreprises ou même les artisans, modifiera à coup sûr votre perception de cet univers si singulier...

6800nomini2

SI le corpus ultra-riche composé de 433 œuvres présenté entre les murs de la Cité Chaillot vaut le détour, c'est pour plusieurs raisons. La première, et non des moindres, consiste à rappeler que ce moment si particulier dans la vie d'un projet constitue une source d'inspiration pour les artistes. Perçu comme un « spectacle de rue », il fascine autant qu'il exaspère, faisant l'objet de portraits tantôt laudatifs, tantôt critiques. Mais plus intéressant encore, l'exposition révèle surtout en quoi la représentation du chantier – et par extension la communication qui l'entoure – est affaire de pouvoir. Valorisation du savoir-faire des artisans ; démonstration de force pour une entreprise visant à démontrer sa capacité à construire une tour de plusieurs dizaines d'étages en un temps record ; outil de revendications sociales pour les ouvriers ; objet de propagande instrumentalisé par certains partis ; média destiné à valoriser – si ce n'est faire accepter – une politique d'aménagement du territoire... Nombreux sont les exemples présentés démontrant à quel point le chantier représente, pour celui qui en dresse le tableau, un moyen efficace de défendre son propos.

6800nomini

Au-delà de cette dimension méta-politique, l'événement est aussi l'occasion pour le visiteur de découvrir certains aspects méconnus du chantier si souvent « interdit au public » : de comprendre qu'il est pour les ingénieurs et les entreprises un lieu d'expérimentation, pour les architectes en herbe un moment d'apprentissage, et, pour certains visiteurs inopinés – enfants, errants, prostitués, etc. – un point de rendez-vous ! Quoi qu'appréciable, ce petit plus est aussi le petit moins de l'exposition, donnant l'impression que celle-ci perd de vue son propre sujet, glissant de la représentation du chantier à sa réalité. Mais ce désagrément reste minime... Alors n'hésitez plus, enfilez vos bottes, votre casque et filez à la Cité de l'Architecture et du Patrimoine découvrir L'Art du Chantier !

Pour en savoir plus, visitez le site de la Cité de l'Architecture et du Patrimoine 

Photographie et illustrations :

1) Eugène de Salignac, Peintres suspendus aux câbles du pont de Brooklyn, 7-10-1914
© New York City Municipal Archives
2) Knickerbocker Photo Service, L'Empire State Building en construction, 1930
© Avery Architectural&Fine Arts Library, Columbia University
3) Alphonse Terpereau, Le viaduc de Gabarit, état des travaux le 6 avril 1884 7
© Musée d'Orsay, Dist. RMN-GP Alexis Brandt
4) Bureau de John Soane, Vue de la salle de l'infirmerie de l'Hôpital Royal de Chelsea en construction, 1809
© Sir John Soane's MuseumPh. Geremy Butler
5) Fernand Léger, Les Constructeurs à l'aloès, 1951. Tapisserie tissée par les ateliers Pinton Frères
© RMN-GP (musée F. Léger)-G.Blot - Adagp, Paris, 2018
6) Henri Rivière, Ouvrier plombier sur la tour. Les Trente-six vues de la Tour Eiffel, entre 1888 et 1902
© RMN-GP (musée d'Orsay)-R-G Ojéda - Adagp, Paris, 2018
7) Lewis Wickes Hine, Icare, tout en haut de l'Empire State, 1931
© The New York Public Library
8) B. Descamps, Badauds regardant par le trou d'une palissade du chantier du forum des Halles, devant la fontaine des Innocents, 1979
© BHVP-Parisienne de Photo
9) Michel Delaporte, Le replatrage dans La caricature morale, politique et littéraire
10) Achille Beltrame, Mussolini lance le chantier de la via dei Fori
11) Tu es syndiqué. Pourquoi n'est-tu pas coopérateur, vers 1935
12) Mise en charge d'une dalle-champignon en ciment
© Felix Candela architectural records and papers, 1950-1984, Avery Architectural & Fine Arts Library, Columbia University
13) Alain Bublex, Plug-in City, Expérience monumentale, 2003 © C. Pompidou MNAM-CCI Dist. RMN-GP
© Adagp, Paris, 2018
14) « En remerciement à Notre-Dame-de-Laghet. 17.12.26 Menardo Geoffroy », 1927
15) « Ex voto. Ma. Sig. Staudo dentro nel cortile successo il 18 aprile venerdi santo 1851. Paolo Tibaud. Malero Modesto. Fortune Viegi », 1851

Publier votre commentaire

0
  • Aucun commentaire sur cet article.

ADC Awards

ADC-Awards-2017 logo-250-01
Les réalisations architecturales les plus remarquables élues par la communauté professionnelle

>> En savoir plus

 

MIAW

logo miaw blanc ok

Un Prix international décerné aux meilleurs produits par les architectes et les professionnels de l'agencement

>> En savoir plus

 

CONTACTEZ-NOUS !

5, rue Saulnier - 75009 PARIS

T : +(33) 1 42 61 61 81

F : +(33) 1 42 61 61 82

[email protected]

www.muuuz.com

à propos

mon compte 

Version mobile